How to Become a Mortgage Loan Officer in North Carolina

North Carolina mortage loan officer signing documents with client

Interested in starting a career in mortgage lending? You may be wondering how to become a mortgage loan officer in North Carolina. Many people choose this career path because of its flexibility, high earning potential, and quick start-up time. So, what does it take to become a mortgage loan officer? This article has everything you need to know about how to get your mortgage loan officer license in North Carolina.

FREE GUIDE: Learn everything you need to know to start a successful career as a mortgage loan officer in North Carolina. Download this helpful career guide.

Step 1: Register with the NMLS

First, you’ll need to register with the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) Federal Registry. You may register through your employer (preferred) or as an individual. Visit the NMLS Federal Registry Resource Center to complete your registration.

Step 2: Complete your prelicensing education

Next, complete your Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) prelicensing education. This includes both national and state-specific prelicensing coursework. To earn your North Carolina MLO license, you must complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education, including:

  • 3 hours of Federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics (including fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues)
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 12 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of NC law

Ready to get started? Browse North Carolina MLO prelicensing course packages.

Step 3: Pass the SAFE MLO exam

Then, you’ll need to pass the national and state components of the SAFE MLO test. This is in accordance with The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act).

Prepare to pass the national component of your SAFE MLO test with the Exam Prep program at Learn Mortgage.

Step 4: Apply for your MLO license

Finally, complete and submit the Individual Form (MU4) in NMLS. This form serves as the application for the MLO license through NMLS. As part of the application process, you’ll be required to authorize a credit report and a criminal background check (including fingerprinting). Instructions for filing the Individual Form (MU4) can be found here.

Step 5: Maintain your MLO license

To maintain your North Carolina MLO license, you must complete at least 8 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education (CE) courses and apply for license renewal each year. Annual CE must include:

  • 3 hours of Federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics (including fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues)
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of NC-specific education

Now that you know how to become a mortgage loan officer in North Carolina, let’s get started! Superior School of Real Estate and Learn Mortgage have joined forces to bring you the very best in mortgage education. We offer a full, national catalog of high-quality, online, webinar, and live courses in both pre-licensing and continuing education. View North Carolina MLO pre-licensing course packages.